Rolls Royce Spirit

Rolls-Royce Silver Spirit

Rolls-Royce Silver Spirit
Rolls-Royce Silver Spur IV
Manufacturer Rolls-Royce Motors
Parent company Vickers plc
Also called Silver Spur
Flying Spur
Silver Dawn
Production 1980–1998
Assembly Crewe, England
Predecessor Rolls-Royce Silver Shadow II
Rolls-Royce Silver Wraith II
Successor Rolls-Royce Silver Seraph
Class Full-size luxury car
Body style(s) 2-door saloon
4-door saloon
Layout FR layout
Related Bentley Eight
Bentley Mulsanne
Designer Fritz Feller
Mark I
First generation Rolls-Royce Silver Spur
Also called Silver Spirit
Silver Spur
Production 1980–1989
Mark II
Also called Silver Spirit II
Silver Spur II
Production 1989–1993
Engine(s) 6.75 L Rolls-Royce V8
Transmission(s) 4-speed automatic
Wheelbase 120.5 in (Silver Spirit)
124.5 in (Silver Spur)
Length 207.8 in (Silver Spirit)
211.8 in (Silver Spur)
Width 74.3 in
Height 58.5 in
Mark III
Rolls-Royce Silver Spur III
Also called Silver Spirit III
Silver Spur III
Flying Spur
Production 1993–1994
Engine(s) 6.75 L Rolls-Royce V8
Transmission(s) 4-speed automatic
Wheelbase 124.5 in (Silver/Flying Spur)
148.5 in (Silver Spur Touring Limousine)
Length 211.4 in (Flying Spur)
211.8 in (Silver Spur)
235.4 in (Silver Spur Touring Limousine)
Width 79.1 in (Silver Spur)
79.0 in (Flying Spur)
Height 58.5 in (Silver/Flying Spur)
60.4 in (Silver Spur Touring Limousine)
Mark IV
1996 Rolls-Royce Silver Dawn (North America)
Also called Silver Dawn
Silver Spirit IV
Silver Spur IV
Park Ward
Production 1994–1998
Engine(s) 6.75 L Rolls-Royce V8
Transmission(s) 4-speed automatic
Wheelbase 124.5 in
148.5 in (Silver Spur Touring Limousine)
Length 212.4 in (Silver Spur)
211.4 in (Silver Dawn)
Width 83.1 in (Silver Spur)
79 in (Silver Dawn)
Height 58.5 in

The Silver Spirit, introduced by Rolls-Royce in 1980, was the first of a new generation of models for the company. It formed the basis for the Flying Spur, Silver Dawn, Touring Limousine, and Park Ward. The same chassis was also used by sister company, Bentley for their new Mulsanne/Eight series. The entire line was replaced with the BMW-powered Silver Seraph and the Bentley Arnage in 1998.

The new car was not entirely new — it shared the basic floor pan of the Silver Shadow as well as that car's 6.75 LV8 engine. The Spur continued with the high degree of ride quality and self-leveling suspension from the Shadow, this time using a Girling automatic hydraulic ride height control system and gas-charged shock absorbers. (6750 cc/411 in³)

The Silver Spur was a long wheelbase version of the Silver Spirit, produced at the same time.

The Spirit was the first car to feature the retractable Spirit of Ecstasy. The spring loaded Mascot sank onto the radiator shell if dislodged from its position.


Mark II

The Silver Spirit II and Silver Spur II were introduced at the 1989 Frankfurt Motor Show. Again, the suspension was the main innovation, with a fully automatic system adjusting dampers at all four wheels in real time. Other main innovations were the adoption of ABS and fuel injection as standard for all models, and two additional bull's eyes ventilation outlets on the dashboard.

Mark III

The Silver Spirit III and Silver Spur III, introduced in 1993, relied on improvements to the traditional V8 engine as their differentiator. A new intake manifold and cylinder heads upped power output, which was still stated simply as "adequate" in company literature. Dual airbags were another new feature, and the rear seats now adjusted independently.

Flying Spur

The 1994–1995 Flying Spur was a turbocharged version of the Silver Spur III.

Mark IV

The final revision of the Silver Spirit and Silver Spur was introduced late in 1995, but a new Silver Dawn appeared a year earlier in the American market. Another new name was also added, the Park Ward limousine, just as the Silver Spirit name was abandoned. As of 1997, the long wheelbase was standard on all models, with the limousine models offering the extra-long only. Another major change that year was the introduction of a Garrett turbocharger on all models.